Ssi & Ssdi California Hearing Offices
How much Permanent Disability in Your Workers Comp Case?
California is part of Region 9 of the SSA. The Region 9 headquarters is in San Francisco. There are also 16 additional hearing offices in California
When applying for SSI or SSDI in California, it is important to know which hearing office you will use and how long you can expect to wait for your hearing. Below is a list of SSDI California hearing offices for your convenience.
Fresno Office of Disability Adjudication and Review
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Services the following Social Security Field Offices: Boyle Heights, Compton, Downey, Huntington Park, Montebello, Norwalk, Whittier
Oakland Office of Disability Adjudication and Review
Oakland Federal Building, Suite 200N
1301 Clay Street
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Services the following Social Security Field Offices: Antioch, Berkeley, East Oakland, Fremont, Hayward/Livermore , Oakland, Richmond, San Leandro, Walnut Creek
Orange Office of Disability Adjudication and Review
Centrum North, Suite 600
1120 West La Veta Avenue
Orange, CA 92868
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Services the following Social Security Field Offices: Anaheim, Brea, Fountain Valley, Garden Grove, Mission Viejo, Ontario, Pomona Valley, Santa Ana
Pasadena Office of Disability Adjudication and Review
Pasadena Towers 1, Suite 500
800 E. Colorado Boulevard
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Who May Be Eligible
SSDI: A worker who becomes disabled. Also, certain family members may be eligible. These family members, with some limitations not fully described below, may include:
- The workers spouse, if the spouse is caring for their child who is younger than age 16 or who is disabled
- The workers spouse, if the spouse is age 62 or older
- The workers child if the child is younger than age 18. If the child is still in grade school or high school full time, the child can receive benefits up to age 19
- The workers child who is age 18 or older, if this child is disabled and became disabled before age 22
- The workers divorced spouse, if:
- The divorced spouse is age 62 or older,
- Was married to the worker for at least 10 years, and
- Is not currently married.
SSI: U.S. citizens and certain legal who are financially needy. Also, who are at least 65 years old, blind or disabled.
Register For Sdi Online
Log in to BPO, then select SDI Online. You will be directed to your SDI Online Registration Options.
You will be assigned an EDD Customer Account Number once you complete the registration process. You will also receive a registration confirmation by email and mail.
To file your claim online, follow these steps:
You must submit your DI claim within this timeframe:
- Wait nine days after you become disabled to file your claim.
- File your claim within 49 days of becoming disabled to avoid disqualification.
Note: It may be necessary for us to send you some documents by mail, even if you select electronic communications as your preference.
Recommended Reading: How Much Is Ssdi In Ohio
Late Payments Of Permanent Disability
If your permanent disability workers comp payment is late, the insurance company must pay you a penalty. This amounts to an additional 10%.15
Example: Matt has not received any permanent disability checks for six weeks. He should have been paid $290 a week but the insurance company made a mistake in their computer system and no checks went out. Matt should get the six weeks of payments totaling $1,740 and a penalty payment of $174.
Helping Clients Throughout Southern California Obtain Disability Benefits
We offer complimentary initial consultations at one of our ten convenient locations throughout Southern California. Contact us today to schedule a flexible appointment you will owe us nothing unless we obtain compensation for you. We are proud of our success rate and eager to protect you.
Since 1936, we have been representing the rights of injured workers in Los Angeles, San Diego, and throughout Southern California. Our team includes board-certified workers compensation attorneys who are ready to do what it takes to get you results. We are determined to make your case a success.
The attorneys at our law firm take on all types of permanent disability cases, including those involving:
- Loss of limb, strength or range of motion
- Damage to knees, elbows and other joints
We understand that a permanent disability can put you in a challenging position. You may not be able to engage in simple activities in the way that you were able to previously. Getting out of bed, going to the grocery store, playing games with your children, going out to eat and doing other activities may be painful or impossible. You may require long-term care.
Don’t Miss: How Long Does Ssa Disability Last
Resolving Permanent Disability Claims
After the disabled individuals permanent disability calculation is determined, the workers comp court considers the proposed settlement or awards benefits. If a doctor is required for the permanently disabled individual, the judge must consider the future costs of medical care in the award.Two types of settlements may be considered: 1) a compromise & release settlement or 2) a stipulations with request for award settlement:
- A C& R settlement pays the disabled victim a lump sum for the permanent disability. This type of settlement reduces or removes the administrators future liability for future medical costs or payments.
- A Stip settlement also includes a lump sum payment for permanent disability plus payments to be distributed in the future and over a period of time.
How Much Will I Receive From Sdi
Your benefit amount is calculated based on the amount of earnings you had in the highest-earning quarter of your base period, and is about 60-70 percent of your regular earnings. In 2018, the maximum amount of SDI you can receive is $1,216 per week. SDI payments are processed every two weeks.
The entire amount you receive in SDI benefits from a single claim may not exceed the total amount of wages you earned during your base period.
Recommended Reading: How Much Will I Get For Disability In California
Financial Burden Can Fall To Caretakers
Sydney Chandler manages the finances and healthcare of her cousin, Chris Batiste, who is paralyzed. Batiste breathes through an apparatus and communicates with Chandler through a laptop, blinks and head movements.
Chandler, who is a Los Angeles-based writer, said she was livid to learn that SSDI recipients were left out of the state stimulus. To her, it was just another obstacle in the arbitrary and bureaucratic maze that people with disabilities face in trying to attain a liveable income.
Caretakers often carry a significant financial burden. Batiste receives $975 per month in SSDI, and Chandler said she contributes over $1,000 more each month to help cover his rent and full-time nursing.
If it wasnt for me, he would be one of the homeless, Chandler said, and youre telling me that you couldnt set up a portal for SSDI to input their information?
This article is part of the California Divide, a collaboration among newsrooms examining income inequality and economic survival in California.
How Are Ssdi Payments Calculated
California Workers’ Compensation – Permanent Disability explained.
Social Security Disability Insurance benefits are monthly payments based on the amount of money you earned prior to becoming disabled. Like Social Security retirement benefits, SSDI is funded by FICA taxes withheld from paychecks. How much you paid in to Social Security over the years is the primary factor in determining your benefit. The maximum SSDI payment available matches the maximum Social Security retirement benefit, which for 2021 is $3,113 for those who apply at full retirement age .
Many people think that SSDI benefits are based on the severity of the recipients disability. This is not true. However, you must have a medical condition that meets Social Securitys definition of disability to qualify for benefits.
A disability for the purposes of Social Security benefits is a disease or injury that either prevents a person from working for at least 12 months or is expected to result in the individuals death.
Once you qualify, your monthly benefit is based on your average covered earnings over a period of years, known as your average indexed monthly earnings . A formula is then applied to your AIME to calculate your primary insurance amount , which the Social Security Administration uses to set your benefit.
For 2021, the primary insurance amount bend points are the first $996, the amount from $996 to $6,002, and the amount over $6,002. Your amount would be the sum of:
Read Also: Ut Students With Disabilities
What If Im Wrongfully Fired Or Told By My Employer That I Cannot Take Time Off Due To My Disability
Being able to enforce your rights is important. Not all employers are aware of how State Disability Insurance works and some are not supportive of employees taking time off. If you suspect you were wrongfully terminated or disciplined for taking leave, we recommend getting free legal counsel and support from one of our members, Legal Aid At Work.
Ways Employees Can Disqualify Themselves From Sdi
In some situations, employees can lose their eligibility for SDI benefits. Benefits are not available for an employee who:
- missed the doctors appointment that the EDD set up
- is unable to work as the result of a felony he or she committed
- is incarcerated after being convicted of a crime
- is receiving unemployment benefits
- is receiving sick leave that equals his or her full salary or regular wages
- is receiving paid family leave benefits, or
- is receiving workers comp payments that are higher than what the employee would receive from SDI.
Don’t Miss: How Much Does Disability Pay In California
How Does The Ssa Determine Who Receives The Maximum Benefit Amount
The reason SSDI payments differ is that the SSA bases its monthly payments on your earnings the last few years before you apply for disability. This means that claimants who had a higher salary or income will generally receive a larger monthly payment, up to the maximum benefit amount. Those who earned only a modest income will receive less money each month.
In many cases, this means those who suffer a permanent impairment at a younger age receive a smaller check each month. Older claimants have often worked their way further up the ladder and were able to earn a higher income than their younger counterparts.
For a free legal consultation, call
What Happens If The Adult Child Gets Married
If he or she receives benefits as a disabled adult child, the benefits generally end if he or she gets married. However, some marriages are considered protected.
The rules vary depending on the situation. Contact a Social Security representative at 1-800-772-1213 to find out if the benefits can continue.
To speed up the application process, complete an Adult Disability Report and have it available at the time of your appointment.
Also Check: What Is The Difference Between Medical And Non Medical Disability
How Is Permanent Disability Calculated In California
Before you can figure out how much money you are owed, your doctor must determine how much your disability will affect you and your ability to work. Permanent disability is calculated as a percentage of your ability to work in the labor market on a scale from 0% to 100%.
There are two types of permanent disability benefits:
- Total Permanent Disability : If your disability rating is under 100%, you are considered to be partially disabled. This will entitle you to weekly payments for a certain period of time the higher the disability rating, the longer you will receive payments. A higher percentage also equals higher payments.
- Partial Permanent Disability : If your disability rating is 100%, you have a permanent total disability in the eyes of the state. This will entitle you to weekly payments indefinitely.
The amount you are paid in benefits is calculated based on the percentage of your disability and two-thirds of your average weekly wages . However, the amount is capped based on a certain dollar value set by the State. The amount is regularly adjusted and can vary year by yearbetween 2014 and 2018, the minimum was $160 a week and the maximum was $290, for example. Payments for PD are made every two weeks by your employers insurance company. These payments are not usually considered taxable.
If you have any questions or areready to get started on your workers compensation claim, please contact us as soon as possible.
How Do I Qualify For Permanent Disability
To be eligible for PD benefits in California, the doctor treating your work injury or illness must write a report stating that you have reached the point of maximum medical improvement . This means you are unlikely to get better within the next year, even with continued medical treatment.
At this point, you should have already filed a workers compensation claim and received benefits related to your medical expenses and lost wages. If you were already on temporary disability , you will start to receive permanent disability benefits almost immediately.
Read Also: Is A Food Allergy Considered A Disability
How Do You File For Permanent Disability In California
To file for disability in California if the person is injured on the job they will need to get a disability claim form, or DWC-1 sheet from their employer and fill out the form once the form is filled out and submitted the person must see a doctor and the doctor will write down if permanent disability is needed. If the patient does not agree with the doctor’s opinion they can ask for a panel of three qualified medical examiners. They must pick one to see and then turn in that doctor’s results.
An agreed medical evaluator may be used if the claims administrator and the patient’s lawyer agree to have the doctor resolve the medical claim. The amount that the patient may get from their permanent disability is figured out by the following:
Depending on when the accident occurs may contribute to an increase or decrease of the amount determined.
Percentages are used to express the impairment level.
Depending on what the patient does for a living and how old they are can influence the amount that will be given.
Sexual dysfunction and sleep disorders will not accrue more money unless they were caused by the injury itself. The formula that will be calculated to determine how much disability benefits will be given is done by a judge or disability reviewer.
Ssi Benefit Amounts In California
Tips for Applying for Disability Benefits
As SSI is a federal program, the federal government provides a monthly benefit to all who qualify. But the State of California adds a supplementary payment onto the monthly federal benefits. This extra payment affects not only the amount of SSI you’ll get but also your eligibility for SSI .
In 2020, the federal government provided the following monthly benefits to SSI disability recipients with no other income:
Federal Monthly SSI Benefit
Read Also: Medically Retired Military Pay Calculator
The Social Security Disability Process In California
After you file an initial disability application with the local Social Security Administration field office , the application is forwarded to the Disability Determination Service Division , a state agency under the California Department of Social Services. A disability claims examiner at DDSD will make the medical determination as to whether you qualify for disability benefits.
If you are denied benefits, you can appeal by requesting that DDSD reconsider your claim. If DDSD denies you again, you can request an appeal hearing in front of an administrative law judge.
What If I Attempt To Return To Work But I End Up Needing To Go Out On Disability Again
If you return to work and are able to perform your regular or customary job for more than 60 days, then your disability benefit period is considered ended. If you stop working again due to disability, you must file a new claim for SDI, and re-establish your eligibility for benefits as of the date of the new claim. If you are eligible for SDI as of the date of your new claim, you are entitled to a new benefit period of up to 52 weeks.
If you return to work for more than 60 days, but do not perform your regular or customary work due to your disability for example, you work only light duty or only part-time you may be able to continue your prior disability claim. You will need to show EDD that you did not perform your regular or customary work when you attempted to return to work.
If you return to work for fewer than 60 days, and stop working due to the same disability, you are considered to be within the same disability benefits period. You may continue receiving benefits under your original claim and the 7-day waiting period required by these claims will be waived.
Also Check: Guard Retirement Points Calculator
Social Security Disability Insurance
The money that pays the SSDI benefits comes from payroll taxes paid by employers, employees and the self-employed. This is why you need to work, pay taxes and earn enough credits before you can receive SSDI benefits. The average SSDI cash benefit is $1,000 $1,200 per month. This number may be higher if you had a large salary and paid more taxes over many years.
In general, if you qualify for SSDI benefits, you will not start to collect benefits until six months after your disability started. This six- month period of exclusion of benefits includes the month your disability began and the next five-months as a waiting period. The five-month waiting period does not apply in every situation. For instance, it does not apply to children of disabled workers. After being disabled for two years, you become eligible for Medicare, even if you are not a senior. You also may be eligible for Medicaid.